School Events

Junior Vocal Major Transliteration Poems

By Edie Rittle

Every quarter, vocal majors receive two songs that they will eventually perform to their peers. This quarter, the junior vocalists received works by the German composer Robert Schumann (a Mr. Macbeth favorite). These works include “In der Fremde,” “Auf einer Burg,” “Mondnacht,” “Widmung,” and “Du Ring an meinem Finger.” Although the junior vocalists have been working on German art songs and techniques all year, it is still difficult to comprehend the true meaning of the songs. Therefore, Mr. Macbeth gave each junior vocalist a transliteration assignment where we had to literally translate the songs word-for-word. Translating german lyrics word-for-word can leave a lot of grammatical errors. Therefore, we had to take the transliterations and rewrite them in our own way. This assignment is important because of the individuality that is expressed within each personal poem. We thought we would share some of the transliterations we came up with!  

“Mondnacht” (Moonlit Night)

Original Poetry by Joseph von Eichendorff 

Translation by Anora Otto

It was from Heaven,

Came the Earth’s kiss,

So by the shimmering flowers

She dreamed of him.

The wind blew through the fields,

the cornstalks gently swayed,

and rustled the quiet forest,

under the starry night.

And my soul took flight

Fanned out her wings,

Glided across the still land,

She flew home.

“Widmung” (Dedication)

Original Poetry by Friedrich Ruckert

Translation by Kaitlyn Hughes

You are my soul, you are my heart. You are my bliss and take my pain. You are my world, my heaven, and my grave. I will forever feel no sorrow! You are quiet, you are my peace. You are from heaven I have decided. The love you have for me gives me value. Your view has transfigured me. Your love lifts me up. You make my spirit better!

“Du Ring an meinem Finger” (Ring on my Finger)

Original Poetry by Aldebert von Chamisso

Translation by Fiona Healy

You ring on my finger, 

my golden little ring

I press you to my lips in praise

Religious in my heart you sing

I dreamed of him in childhood, a peaceful dream  

I found myself alone, lost 

in desolate infinite space.

You ring on my finger

From you I have learned

You had changed my view

of life’s infinite value 

I want him, to give him my life

Belong to him, loyally and find

Him transfigured in my light 

You ring on my finger,

my golden little ring

I press you to my lips in praise

Religious in my heart you sing.

“Widmung” (Dedication)

Original Poetry by Friedrich Ruckert

Translation by Bella Tallada

You my soul, you my heart 

you my bliss, oh you my pain 

you my world in which I live 

my heaven is you, in it I float 

oh you my dig 

down into that I forever gave my sorrow 

you are the peace, you are peace 

you are from heaven for me decided 

that you my love 

that make me worth it 

your look has me 

made clear before me 

you lift me lovingly 

above me 

my good spirit 

my better self

“Widmung” (Dedication)

Original Poetry by Friedrich Ruckert

Translation by Gabriela Gomez

You my soul, you my heart

You my bliss, you my pain

You my world in which I live 

My heaven, you there, I’m floating 

Oh you my grave into which I gave my sorrows forever. 

You are the quiet, you are the peace, you are from heaven, your love makes me worthy, your look had transformed me. You lift me up 

My good soul. You my heart. You my bliss, 

Oh you my pain, you my world in which I live 

My heavens, you there, I float 

My good soul my better self!

  

         Goethe House Römerberg Portrait of J W von Goethe    

Photos from Mr. Macbeth’s trip to Germany

Leave a comment